major - active (1984 - )
DEAD END started their career in the eighties, but after a short but successful six years together, they halted activities. Even though they were active before the visual kei phenomenon came into existence, they helped shape the scene by influencing popular bands such as LUNA SEA and KUROYUME. Their producer was Hajime Okano, who also produced several releases from bands such as La'Cryma Christi, L'Arc~en~Ciel and Transtic Nerve.

Their music is typically a mix of dark eighties-style hard rock and heavy metal; melodic, with wild guitar solos. The band also drew much of their image from the eighties rock genre, with big hair and striking makeup. With the exception of vocalist MORRIE, however, the members have adopted a more subtle look in recent years.

DEAD END originally disbanded in 1990, but the band announced their revival in 2009, playing their first show in nearly 20 years at the JACK IN THE BOX 2009 SUMMER event.
author: Tanja, Kay & vulpix - translation: Kay (2013-01-04)
line up
  • Drums: Minato [1987 / 2009 - gone]
  • Drums: TANO [1984 / 1987 - gone]
  • Guitar: TAKAHIRO [1984 / 1986 - gone]
  • Drums: Shinya [2009 / 2009 - gone - support member]
DEAD END was formed in 1984 by MORRIE and CRAZY COOL JOE. Their line up was soon completed by TANO and TAKAHIRO. In this early period they were quite unknown, but they finally had their breakthrough when You replaced TAKAHIRO on guitar. Their look around this time was rather similar to that of X JAPAN at the beginning of their career, with big hair and heavy makeup.

Their first release came in 1986 with the album DEAD LINE, the cover of which was clearly a homage to the famous British heavy metal band Iron Maiden. The next year, Minato replaced TANO on drums and, on September 8, the band released its second album, Ghost of Romance, which ranked 14th on the Oricon Charts.

The life of the band continued with more recordings and concerts. On May 21, 1988 the album shambara was released, followed by the single BLUE VICES in December. In the same month they also released Psychoscape, a live video of their concert at Shibuya Kokaido.

In 1989 DEAD END released their last album, Zero, which was recorded in London. There were many difficulties during recording, mainly because of the language barrier. During their stay they were joined by YOSHIKI from X JAPAN, who was in Europe to work on the recording of a PV in Paris.

After some more releases and a tour, DEAD END disbanded. Their last concert was on January 21, 1990 at the Nakano Sun Plaza in Tokyo. Even though the band didn't exist anymore, the single Good morning satellite and a live album were later released.

BMG, the band's label, went on to release and re-release several DEAD END DVDs and CDs. Amongst them was the INFINITY compilation album, which also contained a DVD. The booklet contained texts by artists who were influenced by DEAD END, including Kiyoharu of KUROYUME and SADS, SUGIZO of LUNA SEA, ex-Kagerou member Yuana and ex-La'Cryma Christi member Hiro.

After DEAD END disbanded, all four members continued their music careers, forming new bands or embarking on solo projects. MORRIE released three solo albums and participated as a guitarist on Kiyoharu's Poetry album before forming CREATURE CREATURE in 2005 with Tetsu of L’Arc~en~Ciel. You also started a band called Goat Core and embarked on a solo career. CRAZY COOL JOE played in various bands, including machine, and worked together with Pata of X JAPAN in P.A.F. Minato started many new bands as well, but none of them became as successful as DEAD END once was.

In August 2009, DEAD END surprised many fans by announcing their revival. They played their first live in nearly twenty years at the JACK IN THE BOX 2009 SUMMER event. That year also saw the release of a new album called METAMORPHOSIS. The band’s first three albums were also re-released on the same day. METAMORPHOSIS went on to rank in the top 20 of the Oricon Charts, showing that time has not diminished the loyalty and passion of their fans.

However, Minato did not participate in the tour to support METAMORPHOSIS. This led to LUNA SEA drummer Shinya briefly stepping in to help the band in 2009. Minato left DEAD END around this time and, since 2010, their current support drummer is Kei Yamazaki from Venomstrip.

Early 2011 saw the band support Acid Black Cherry on their the Sixth Sence ZEPP Live House tour. Towards the end of the year DEAD END began a three-single consecutive release campaign, with the first, Conception, being released in November. They also performed at V-ROCK FESTIVAL '11 and announced a nationwide tour that is scheduled to commence in March 2012.
author: Tanja, Kay & vulpix - translation: Kay (2013-01-04)

  • euroWH
  • Chaotic Harmony